09
Jul
12

Day fourteen

After a whole day in Bermuda, how do I describe the heat? It’s like running a hot shower in the bathroom and standing around in the heat and leftover humidity while wearing your tour clothes (blue choir shirt with whatever pants suit the occasion). And today I went to the caves, one of which was described as having 100% humidity. I don’t get that – shouldn’t 100% humidity be plain ol’ water? I guess not. But you see my point – if regular Bermuda is hot, then these caves are ridiculous. Oh, don’t get me wrong, they’re beautiful, but it was so hot down there and there was only one entry, so no circulation to be heard of.

The water in the caves is a clear, clear blue. I have no idea how deep the pools must have been, but when I looked from a different angle I could tell that the clarity of the water was deceptive. It looks a foot or two deep but with the support structures holding up the walkway in sight, it must have been at least a metre at the shallowest point, and would be deeper further out.

In the first cave we entered, the Crystal Cave, we saw a column (a stalactite and stalagmite that have merged together due to length) that was about 10,000 years old. In the second cave, Fantasy Cave, the humidity had caused chandelier formations to, well, form. The chandeliers are made from a combination of four different rock formations, and can only appear in caves of such a high humidity. It was all so beautiful.

It was Harbour Day, so in the evening there were festivities in town. The main street was blocked off from traffic, and stalls were set up all through it with jewellery, paintings, candy floss and all the other festival sorts of things. Early in the night we performed a few of our songs, to gather some interest for the Thursday workshop and Friday performance at St. Paul’s Paget Parish. Something seems different about performing here. Maybe it’s the friendliness of the town or maybe I’m just picking up in confidence, but there were no little scaredy flutters and I noticed I’m projecting better (a terrible habit of mine: to be quiet when I’m not confident. It means I don’t sing wrong notes as obviously, but then I also don’t sing right notes as obviously either).

We taxied back to the barracks after an evening of fun and wandering, tummies full and wallets lighter. True tourists!

0 Responses to “Day fourteen”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

